DIVERSE ARCHITECTEN, 1953-1993, Generaal Foulkesweg e.o., Wageningen
Landbouwuniversiteit Wageningen / Agricultural University Wageningen ( Diverse architecten )
© 2014 Ossip van Duivenbode
1876 saw the arrival in Wageningen of the 'state agricultural college'. Its first buildings were provided by the Government Buildings Agency at the close of the 19th century. After the First World War Henry Teeuwisse, the Chief Government Architect, engaged for the Agency the services of several Amsterdam School architects. One of these, Cornelis Blaauw, designed two expressive laboratory blocks: Microbiology and Plant Physiology. In the 1950s a further two major landmarks arrived: the strikingly sited surveyors' building and observation tower by F.E. Röntgen and W. van Tijen's agronomics building (demolished in 2009). Typical of the 1970s was the library housed in the Jan Kops-huis designed by J. Schrieke of B&D Architekten with its indented facades and gable roofs (demolished in 2011). As the '80s dawned the Agricultural University themselves took over the building policy; the upshot was a spate of fresh, spunky architecture by the likes of Baneke & Van der Hoeven (Genetics Building) and Mecanoo (Library"and {prj_id="966" label="Botanical Laboratory).
Wageningen Campus on the De Born site was developed to accommodate the merger of Wageningen Agricultural University, a number of agricultural research institutes and a 'green' school of higher professional education.
Projects: C.J. Blaauw (Microbiology, H. van Suchtelenweg 4 and Plant Physiology, Generaal Foulkesweg 70, 1919-1922), F.E. Röntgen (Surveyors' Building, Westberg, 1953), L.J. Heijdenrijk (Bestuurscentrum, Costerweg, 1990), Baneke & Van der Hoeven (Genetics Building, Dreijenlaan/Generaal Foulkesweg, 1986-1990), Mecanoo (Library, Dreijenlaan, 1986-1991), Mecanoo (Botanical Centre, Arboretumlaan, 1990-1992), H.J.M. Ruijssenaars (LRRH) (Department for Agricultural Research, Bornsesteeg, 1988-1991, 1991-1993), S. Behnisch (G. Benisch & Partner) (Research Centre IBN-DLO, Droevendaalsesteeg 100, 1992-1998), R. Viñoly, Van den Oever Zaaijer (Atlas Building, Droevendaalsesteeg 104, 2002-2006), Quist Wintermans (Forum Building, Droevendaalsesteeg 108, 2002-2007), DP6 (Radix Building, Droevendaalsesteeg 1, 2002-2009), Claus & Kaan (Research Centre NIOO-KNAW, Droevendaalsesteeg 10, 2007-2011).